teachaldenham

The power of collaborative learning

On why we’ve stopped grading lesson observations..

Leave a comment

This post first appeared on Paul Bank’s blog. It’s a brave statement about why his school has stopped grading lesson observations.

paulbanks1974

On why we’ve stopped grading lesson observations….

This term, after a round of lesson observations, I found myself reflecting on where we were as a school. I am coming to the end of my 4th year as HT in the school and was thinking how we could become a ‘great’ school. Our school has had its challenges in the past. We got a ‘Satisfactory’ in early 2010 shortly after I had taken charge and we have worked incredibly hard to improve what we were doing. In March this year we got a ‘Good’ from OFSTED and we were delighted that we had an external validation of what we had known for a while.

For those of you that know me, you will know that I am not that fussed about OFSTED. That isn’t to say I don’t think that their judgements are important-they are-I just don’t run my school for…

View original post 836 more words

Author: TeachAldenham

Online profile of TeachAldenham, Aldenham School Teaching and Learning Group. teachaldenham.wordpress.com Find us on twitter @teachaldenham

Leave a Reply

